Peanut Butter Cap’n Crunch Treats

September 2, 2011 § 3 Comments

I have been on a huge cereal kick lately. I “cereasly” can’t get enough of it. I eat it for breakfast, snack and dessert. So recently, in a house that hasn’t finished a box of cereal in several months, we’ve consistently had two boxes of cereal at the ready, to feed my addiction. As a general rule, we buy one ‘healthy’ variety, like corn flakes, Crispix or Cheerios, and one ‘treat’ variety, like Cinnamon Toast Crunch, Cracklin’ Oat Bran (sounds healthy, but it isn’t!) or Peanut Butter Cap’n Crunch.

A few nights ago, as Brad was pouring himself a bowl of Peanut Butter Cap’n Crunch, he noticed that, with only four valid Cap’n Crunch box tops (plus shipping & handling), he could get a FREE retro Cap’n Crunch t-shirt!

If it's free, it must be good!

Buying brand-new retro-style t-shirts is typically a little lame, but I think this is totally awesome because you have to REALLY LIKE Cap’n Crunch to get it, and the only way to get it is pretty retro in itself.

To help Brad in his quest for cereal-related clothing, my brain immediately started cranking out ways to use four boxes of Cap’n Crunch in a short amount of time. Mostly, I was thinking, “Score! Another excuse to eat a shitload of cereal without feeling guilty!” but I also thought of these. They’ve been called the perfect stoner food, though I was not under any influence when they were conceived, made or eaten, and they were still entirely delicious. They take about 5 minutes to make (and maybe 10-20 to cool), which is another reason they might be perfect for late-night munch-a-holics. You can add in whatever chocolate chips, candy or cereal you have lying around, or sub the peanut butter for Nutella… these are endlessly customizable, so use your imagination and enjoy!

Peanut Butter Cap’n Crunch Treats
makes 12 squares 

Crumby photo.

1 1/2 tbsp butter
1 tbsp peanut butter
15 large marshmallows (about half a bag)
3 cups Peanut Butter Cap’n Crunch cereal
1/4 cup Reese’s Pieces candy

In a large pot, melt the butter and peanut butter over medium heat. When melted, stir in the marshmallows until they are completely melted. Reduce heat to low and add in cereal and candy, stirring until completely coated. Spread onto greased 8″x8″ pan and let cool completely before cutting and eating.

§ 3 Responses to Peanut Butter Cap’n Crunch Treats

  • esther says:

    i am ‘cereasly’ going to be making these. though i may use crunch berries, which is what i have TWO boxes of right now.
    i love this post, one because you’re hilarious, and two, because i have been thinking/obsessing lately about how i can incorporate crunch berries into a dessert. it’s crazy you say that about your cereal kick, cause that’s exactly what’s been going on with me. normally i never eat it, then i got addicted and polished off a box of crunch berries so fast that the top of my mouth got all cut up.
    also i will be checking into that t-shirt thing.
    sorry for the extra long comment. i’m just excited. you’re awesome.

  • Thanks for reading!
    I love that you mention your mouth getting all cut up by Cap’n Crunch! I avoided it for so long because of that, but I find the peanut butter variety isn’t as bad because it is round instead of that ridgey-square shape.
    I checked out your blog and am sure I will spend a lot of time today going though your archives. I wish my photos would turn out like yours!

  • esther says:

    Ohhh thank you, you are too nice! I feel like my photos have a looong way to go. They always reject them on tastespotting and stuff, haha. But I shall keep working on them. And I think your photos are great!

    Ok so I made these the other night, but using crunch berries cause that’s what I had. So I didn’t feel like peanut butter and chocolate went as well with that and I used butterscotch chips and coconut instead. OMG. Like crack. Today my husband asked me what happened to those cap’n crunch bars (cause he seriously got like one piece the first night). I told him it was his fault for not eating them fast enough. They were sitting there for a three days, what else was I gonna do?

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Peanut Butter Cap’n Crunch Treats at Steady Diet of Something.

meta

