S’mores Candy Bars

August 29, 2011 § Leave a comment

A few days ago, I found myself at a big birthday party in the Hollywood Hills. When I arrived, my friend told me there was beer in the fridge, and a s’mores making station in the backyard. I’ve always considered myself a true lover of s’mores, but I realized at that moment that I am not really a huge fan of s’mores themselves. The graham cracker inevitably crumbles apart, as the marshmallow is squeezed out onto the ground, leaving you with a sticky mess and a Hershey bar. However, I am a fanatic about s’more inspired desserts. Brownies with a graham cracker crust and toasted marshmallows on top? Gimme. Chocolate cupcakes with marshmallow frosting and graham cracker sprinkles? Yes please. No less than one-fifth of my saved dessert bookmarks are chocolate/graham cracker/marshmallow combinations, only second to chocolate/peanut butter combos (which are my true love).

So, when I was having a small dinner party and had no treats in the house, searching through my bookmarks pointed me in the direction of a lot of s’mores-based options. Since I was looking for something really quick and easy, I opted for a recipe for S’mores Cracker Candy, which I adapted a bit to the ingredients I had on hand and the amount I wanted to make. This recipe takes about 15 minutes to make (but more time to cool, so plan ahead) and is so much better than actual s’mores, you’ll wonder if you’ll ever go back to this dessert in it’s more primitive form.

S’mores Candy Bars
makes 9 bars 

5-6 graham crackers
1/3 cup butter
1/3 cup brown sugar
1 1/2 cups small marshmallows
2/3 cup milk chocolate chips
1/3 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350°F. Line a 9″x9″ baking pan with parchment paper and arrange the graham crackers in a single layer on the bottom of the pan, breaking pieces in half to fill the whole pan. In a saucepan, melt the butter and sugar together over medium heat until it becomes a syrup (you should not be able to see pieces of the sugar anymore.) Pour the sauce over the graham crackers evenly and bake for about 5 minutes, or until it starts to bubble.

Remove the pan from the oven and immediately top with marshmallows and chocolate chips. (Note: I eye-balled the amounts here, so feel free to add more or less chocolate and marshmallows if you are so inclined.) Put the pan back in the oven and bake for about 5 more minutes, or until the marshmallows are slightly browned.

Let it cool completely before lifting the parchment out of the pan and cutting or breaking into pieces.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading S’mores Candy Bars at Steady Diet of Something.

meta

